Using the View Panel

  • 18 August 2022
  • 0 replies
  • 1227 views

Userlevel 7
Badge +13

In any Block (List, Metric or Table) you can choose a specific way to visualize your data, known as a View. Multiple Views may differ based on their use in grids, charts, and KPIs. 

 

To save a public View, a Member needs the Configure Public Views permission. All other Members can create personal views directly within a Block. For more information on permissions, see Pigment Security Basics

 

Table of Contents

What Can You Change in a View?

There are a few features that can be used to modify your views. 

  • Formatting and styling can be applied including the font style, value displaying, and colors for headers or specific cells.
  • Conditional Formatting can be used to color cells based on data values. 
  • Totals  can be added using the Aggregator Panels.
  • Filtering can be used to remove items from view.
  • Pivot can adjust where dimensions are located in columns, rows or page selectors. 
  • Sort can be used to change the order of items depending on their values.

View Limits

When you’re editing a View, you need to consider the limits on how many pages, rows, and columns you can add to it. 

The maximum values are listed below:  

  • 30 Dimensions in pages: applicable for Lists, Metrics, and Tables. 
  • 20 Dimensions in columns: applicable for Metrics and Tables.
  • 20 Dimensions in rows: applicable for Metrics and Tables. 
  • 300 Properties in a List
  • 500 Metrics in a Table


Make a View Available in Other Applications

 

You can quickly add a single View from Transactions Lists, Dimension Lists, Tables, and Metrics and Tables to the Library using the View panel.
 

Add a View to the Library

 For more information on using Views in other Applications, see:

 

Public vs Personal Views

 

Members with the Configure Public View permission can create and save Public Views in a Block, which are then accessible to all Members with access to that Block. When copying a Block, these views can be duplicated, and they are the only views that can be published to a Board

 

Members can create personal Views without requiring any permission. These personal Views are only accessible within a Block and cannot be used or generated on a Board. For Members without the Block Explorer permission, they must use the Expand feature on a widget to create a personal View.

 

After saving, Members can share a personal View using the Copy link option, which is accessible by clicking the menu (...)  next to the view in the View Panel. The Member receiving the link sees the saved configuration but won't find this view in their View Panel.

 

 

 

When sending a Personal View using the Copy Link option, other Members can save any changes to that personal View, which is why it’s recommended to duplicate a shared View if a Member wants their own version. 
 

In this example, the Member saves a personal view and uses the Copy Link functionality to send the View to another Member. If the other Member saves any changes without duplicating the View, the changes are saved under the sending Member's personal View.​​​​​​

 

Access the View panel 

 

Click the name of the View in the top left corner to access the View panel. From here, switch between the different Views and use the Search to find a specific View. All Public views are visible to every Member, while Personal views are specific to individual Members.

When personal Views are shared using the Copy link, they’re only visible in the personal View panel until the receiving Member refreshes the page or leaves the panel. To save the shared View, the receiving Member must duplicate it first.

 

 

Set a default View 

 

Blocks will always open on the default view. Users with Configure blocks and Configure views permissions can set a view as default.  In the view panel, click the menu (...) next to a view to select Set as default view.

 

You also have a few other options in this menu.   

  • Rename View. Rename a View, does not affect a View if referenced in other places.
  • Edit Description. Adjusts the description that is seen when Members hover over a view
  • Duplicate View.  Creates a copy of the current view. If a Member does not have Configure Public View permission this appears as Duplicate view as personal View.
  • Delete View. Delete a View. This is unavailable if there are unsaved changes.
  • Save as.  Create a new View based on the changes you made. This option is only available after a change is made.
  • Copy Link. Copies a link that can be sent to other Members to access that View.  This option will not be available if there are unsaved changes.
  • Add to Library.  Adds the View to the Library. 

 

 

Add new View

 

You can create a new view by clicking + New View button at the bottom of the view panel. Members with Configure Public View permissions will be able to choose between a Public of Personal View. All other Members will default to Personal and not allow them to change.

 

Push to Board

 

Use the Add to Board option to publish a public View on a Board directly from a Block. 

  1. Save all changes to your View. 
  2. Click the dropdown next to the Save View button.
  3. Click Add to Board.

If you want, you can create a new Board from this menu.   

Once selected, the current View appears in the top right of the chosen Board, and you can adjust its position from there.

 

 

 

 


This topic has been closed for comments